Congresswoman Susan W. Brooks

Representing the 5th District of Indiana
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
YouTube icon
Instagram icon

Susan Brooks Chosen To Co-Chair German Legislative Exchange

Jun 29, 2018
In The News

(Friday, June 29, 2018) – This week, FMC, an association of former Members of Congress, announced the new House Republican co-chair of its Congressional Study Group on Germany.

U.S. Rep. Susan Brooks (R-Ind.) takes over from the recently retired U.S. Rep. Charles W. Dent (R-Penn.). Brooks represents the Fifth Congressional District, in central Indiana, including northern Indianapolis. She serves on the prestigious Energy and Commerce Committee and is chairwoman of the Committee on Ethics. Prior to her service in Congress, Brooks was U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of Indiana.

“It is an honor to have the opportunity to co-chair the Congressional Study Group on Germany,” said Brooks. “FMC provides immersive, informative programming that helps Members of Congress learn more about the world around us in an atmosphere that encourages bipartisanship and honest, open dialogue. These aspects of statesmanship are important to me and I know they were important to Charlie Dent. I look forward to carrying on the leadership he provided and helping the Study Group continue to grow and touch more lives both in the United States and in Germany.”

The Congressional Study Group on Germany is one of four such legislative exchanges house at FMC. Each Study Group has four co-chairs, split on a bipartisan, bicameral basis. Brooks will join U.S. Rep. Ted Deutch (D-Fla.) as House co-chairs for the Study Group on Germany.

“Charlie Dent was a great partner in helping lead the Congressional Study Group on Germany,” said Deutch. “I know from my extensive bipartisan work with Rep. Susan Brooks that she is an excellent choice and I look forward to working together to create opportunities for our colleagues in Congress, our staff and stakeholders through the U.S. and Germany regarding the vital transatlantic relationship.

“Technology has allowed people to come together, but these days, government action is pushing nations apart. Along with all the members of the Congressional Study Groups, Susan and I are committed to not letting that happen, and to protecting critical American alliances, including supporting groups like FMC and the Congressional Study Groups.”

U.S. Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.) serves as co-chair in the Senate for the Congressional Study Group on Germany, with a Republican co-chair choice soon to be announced.

FMC is a non-advocacy, non-partisan group founded in 1970 and chartered by Congress in 1983. It is a voluntary alliance of former U.S. Senators and Representatives, working to strengthen Congress in the conduct of its Constitutional responsibility through promoting a collaborative approach to policy making; and to deepening the understanding of our democratic system.

The Congressional Study Groups on Germany, Japan, Europe and Korea are international legislative exchange programs created by FMC to further that mission.