Congresswoman Susan W. Brooks

Representing the 5th District of Indiana
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
YouTube icon
Instagram icon

Indiana’s Pro-Life U.S. Reps Vote to End Taxpayer Funding of Abortion

Jan 25, 2017
In The News

WASHINGTON – Today, seven of Indiana’s U.S. representatives voted for H.R. 7, the No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act. The pro-life representatives who voted to bar taxpayer funding of abortion were: Reps. Jackie Walorski (IN-2), Jim Banks (IN-3), Todd Rokita (IN-2), Susan Brooks (IN-5), Luke Messer (IN-6), Larry Bucshon (IN-8) and Trey Hollingsworth (IN-9).

The No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act makes permanent the Hyde Amendment, which is credited with saving the lives of two million Americans. The White House issued a statement saying President Donald Trump will sign H.R. 7 into law when it reaches his desk.

“We extend our hearty thanks to Indiana’s seven pro-life representatives who voted to protect taxpayers and protect life,” said Mike Fichter, President and CEO of Indiana Right to Life. “Hoosiers do not want to fund the destruction of human life. We’re pleased the No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act passed the House with the support of Reps. Walorski, Banks, Rokita, Brooks, Messer, Bucshon and Hollingsworth. We look forward to Congress next defunding Planned Parenthood of all taxpayer funds.”

Indiana Right to Life’s mission is to protect the right to life, especially of unborn children, through positive education, compassionate advocacy and promotion of healthy alternatives to abortion.